Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

Unpacking the GOP’s “Pledge to America”

The Who, What, When, Where and Why Behind Republican Irresponsibility

SOURCE: AP/J. Scott Applewhite

House Minority Leader John Boehner of Ohio, center, gestures while announcing the Republicans "Pledge to America" agenda on September 23, 2010, at a lumber company in Sterling, VA. From left are Rep. Peter Roskam, (R-IL), House Minority Whip Eric Cantor of VA, Boehner, Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, (R-WA), and Rep. Kevin McCarthy, (R-CA).

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Congressional Republicans this week unveiled their “Pledge to America,” dressing down for the occasion at a hardware store in Sterling, Virginia, to demonstrate their empathy for the average American. Alas, their pledge is as bereft of ideas to help working Americans as it is empty of anything but election eve rhetoric designed to mask the GOP’s corporate support in tea party platitudes.

Here’s our analysis of the who, what, when, where and why behind their deeply dangerous “pledge.”

Who wrote the pledge?

What will the pledge do?

What will it do to deficits and debt?

  • American Progress’s Michael Ettlinger and Michael Linden examined the "Pledge" and found that implementing the plan’s proposals would increase the federal budget deficit and accelerate growth in federal debt. More here. (CAP)

What did the GOP refuse to include in the "Pledge?"

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org