Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

GOP Must Wise Up over Immigration Policy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Even before Hurricane Isaac forced the reconfiguration of the Republican Party convention, party leaders were scrambling to confront a looming storm surge: The demographic wave rapidly reshaping the national electorate. Hispanics are the fasting-growing group of voters in the United States and they will soon make up the majority of new voters in battleground states. Party influentials like Florida Governor Jeb Bush have started to sound the alarm, calling his party’s posture towards Latinos “stupid.”

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNN-Global Public Square.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org