Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

McCain’s Bad Medicine: A 50 State Analysis of John McCain’s Health Care Plan

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

John McCain has a radical prescription for American health care that would unravel the employer-based health care system, raise taxes on middle-class American families, and leave millions of Americans with chronic conditions without coverage in an unregulated private insurance market.

These maps and data tables show the effects of his proposed plan on all 50 states.

 

McCain’s Uninsured

mccains uninsuredJohn McCain could cause the erosion of employer-based health care putting nearly 56 million Americans with chronic conditions at risk of losing their coverage.

 

 

 

McCain’s Middle-Class Tax Hike

mccains middle classJohn McCain has a radical plan to change the way Americans pay for their health insurance, and it would raise taxes on millions of American families.

 

 

 

McCain’s Eviscerated Consumer Protections

mccains consumer protections John McCain would allow big insurance companies to avoid following important laws passed by individual states that help keep health care accessible and affordable.

 

Click here for key data from McCain’s Radical Health Care Plan: A 50 State Analysis (PDF)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org