Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

14,000 Losing Coverage Every Day: A State-by-State Breakdown

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Download the full chart (pdf)

See also: Health Care in Crisis

Last month, the Center for American Progress Action Fund released a report estimating that, because of the spiraling unemployment in the United States, approximately 14,000 workers lost their health insurance every day in December and January.

In the chart below, we’ve broken the number down by state according to each state’s share of the increase in unemployment over November and December (the most recent available data). States with larger populations and those that have been disproportionately hit economically bear a larger share of the increase in the numbers of people losing their insurance from becoming unemployed.

These numbers are estimates. The experience of any individual state may diverge from these numbers based on the particular eligibility requirements for state safety-net programs and the pervasiveness of employer-provided health insurance.

This chart also shows the most recently measured unemployment rate and uninsured rate to give a broader picture of the economic and health insurance context in each state.

health losses by state

Download the full chart (pdf)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org