Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

How Much Is Your Tax Cut?

Use Our Calculator to Find Out

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As part of his 2010 budget, President Barack Obama has proposed extending the “Making Work Pay” tax credit, a permanent payroll tax reduction for workers and their families.

This tax cut would be financed by making companies pay for their greenhouse gas emissions and eliminating tax breaks for dirty energy—capping pollutants at a sustainable level while returning money to working Americans.

Enter how much you make each year in the calculator below to find out how big your tax cut would be.

Tax Refund Calculator

Enter your household salary and select whether you file individually or as a couple, and see how much money you will save, every year, under President Obama's new tax plan.

 

 

Note: The Making Work Pay tax credit is a refundable tax credit of $400 for working individuals and $800 for married couples filing joint returns. The full value of the credit is given to individuals with adjusted gross income of less than $75,000 and couples making less than $150,000. The value of the credit is phased out for individuals making between $75,000 and $95,000 and couples making between $150,000 and $190,000. Those making more will not receive the Making Work Pay tax credit.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org