Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

PRESS CALL ADVISORY: Veterans and Policy Experts Respond to Romney’s VFW Speech

Romney Plans at Odds with Veterans, Allies, and Security

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — Republican presidential candidate and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney will address the Veterans of Foreign Wars convention today in Reno, Nevada, as a precursor to his first foreign policy tour, which will include the United Kingdom, Israel, and Poland. Following Gov. Romney’s speech this afternoon, experts from the Center for American Progress Action Fund, National Security Network, and VoteVets will hold a press call at 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT to discuss why Gov. Romney’s slogan-heavy, solution-light plans are at odds with our veterans, our allies, and our long-term security interests.

Former Deputy Secretary of Defense and current CAP Action Senior Vice President for National Security and International Policy Rudy deLeon; former State Department and White House Policy Staff and Speechwriter and current National Security Network Executive Director Heather Hurlburt; CAP Action Senior Fellow and Middle East and South Asia expert Brian Katulis; and VoteVets Chairman Jon Soltz, a two-time Iraq War veteran, will all react to Gov. Romney’s speech and scheduled meetings with foreign leaders along the tour, in contrast with his record, important national security questions he refuses to answer, previous statements regarding his stance on Pentagon spending, U.S. military and diplomatic engagement in the Middle East, relationships with our allies, and America’s strategic priorities.

WHAT:

Press call to respond to Gov. Romney’s VFW speech on foreign policy

WHEN:

Tuesday, July 24, 2012, at 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT

CALL INFO:

Dial: 800.895.1085
Passcode: VFW

RSVP:

Sara DuBois, 202.289.5999 or sdubois@nsnetwork.org
Christina DiPasquale, 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogressaction.org
Eric Schmeltzer, 646.290.8586 or eric@votevets.org

**Please note, this call will be recorded. By participating in the call, you consent to be recorded.**

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org