Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

RELEASE: Matthew Yglesias to Join ThinkProgress and the Center for American Progress Action Fund

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, DC – The Center for American Progress Action Fund (CAPAF) announced today that prominent progressive writer Matthew Yglesias will be joining the Center as a Senior Editor. Yglesias will operate an independent blog as part of the Center’s award-winning flagship blog, ThinkProgress, and will also serve in a variety of other communications roles.

“The Center for American Progress and its sister affiliate, the Action Fund, are fantastic institutions that I’ve loved from their earliest days, and that have come to play a key role in the progressive revival in this country,” Yglesias said. “I’m thrilled to be a part of American Progress at this moment of great opportunity for our shared values. I’m especially looking forward to working alongside the ThinkProgress team that’s already one of the best outfits on the internet.”

Most recently, Yglesias was an Associate Editor at The Atlantic Monthly, where his commentary on policy and the progressive movement established him as one of the most thoughtful voices writing today. His first book, Heads in the Sand, was published by Wiley publishers in April 2008.

Faiz Shakir, Editor of ThinkProgress.org, said, “Over the past three and a half years, ThinkProgress has established itself as a leading rapid response research blog. With his insightful and analytical writing abilities, Matt adds an important dimension to our talented team and affirms ThinkProgress’s role as a leading advocate for progressive thought and progressive change.”

ThinkProgress was honored to receive the 2008 Sidney Hillman Foundation Journalism Award for best blog.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org