Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

RELEASE: Who’s Playing the Race Card? Republicans Seem to Relish in Racial Divide

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — In today’s “Race and Beyond” column, CAP Action Senior Fellow Sam Fulwood III analyzes how the campaign trail’s latest strategies to rally their base confirm how the GOP continue to use race baiting this election season.

From Republican presidential candidate and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney mentioning how he was “born and raised here,” to talk show host Chris Matthews’s confrontation with Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus during an appearance on MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” over the Romney campaign’s act of “playing that little ethnic card” in its false attacks against welfare reform and jokes about birtherism, it is clear that Republicans are relishing in the racial divide.

Fulwood concludes the GOP’s race-baiting approach to appeal to a dying base is a futile refuge for politicians with no place to turn. And given the country’s changing demographics, this will ultimately be a losing strategy for Republicans.

To read the full column, click here.

The following experts are available for comment:

  • Sam Fulwood, Senior Fellow at CAP Action
  • Daniella Gibbs Leger, Vice President for American Values and New Communities at CAP Action

Additional resources:

 ###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Center for American Progress' Legal Progress, Half in Ten)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogressaction.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogressaction.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org