Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Action’s David Madland Applauds NLRB’s Action Protecting Union Election Rights

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C.—Today, David Madland, Director of the American Worker Project at the Center for American Progress Action Fund released the following statement regarding the National Labor Relations Board’s decision to adopt a final rule to streamline the union election process:

By adopting this very important rule yesterday, workers across the nation seeking to collectively bargain achieved an important victory. The process adopted by the National Labor Relations Board will help employees, who have petitioned for an election, gain the right to a vote without costly delays, intimidation or unnecessary litigation.

The NLRB crafted this rule to affect only a small number of cases and proposed it after a careful review of more than 65,000 comments from a comprehensive proposal. By providing employees a timely vote for establishing a union, both employees and employers can focus on negotiating a fair collective bargaining agreement.

The Center for American Progress Action Fund applauds the work of the National Labor Relations Board and hopes it moves to adopt its remaining election reform proposals.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org