Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Action’s Perriello on Supreme Court’s American Tradition Partnership v. Bullock Decision

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Supreme Court doubled down on its disastrous decision in Citizens United and Tom Perriello, President of the Center for American Progress Action Fund, issued the following statement:

As we’ve seen in recent months, millionaires and billionaires are now able and willing to dump "limitless" sums of money into our elections in order to buy their preferred candidate’s victory. Corporations aren’t people and our democracy shouldn’t be for sale. Despite mountains of evidence that their decision has opened the floodgates of special interest secret money into our elections—selling our democracy to the highest bidder—today five justices overturned a decision by Montana’s Supreme Court without even hearing any arguments.

If their original decision could be discounted as astoundingly naïve, this rejection of Montana’s anticorruption laws is a crass attempt to rig the political system to protect the powerful and lock in partisan political gains. For more than two centuries, a set of conservative ideologues have bemoaned that the Articles of Confederation were ever replaced by the Constitution. With shocking speed, there are five men trying to reverse what our nation’s founders long ago corrected.

To speak to Tom Perriello or other CAP Action experts, contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogressaction.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org