Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Action’s Heather Boushey on August Jobs Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Heather Boushey, Senior Economist at the Center for American Progress Action Fund, had the following reaction to the announcement of August’s unemployment figures:

August marked the 30th straight month of private-sector job gains. Over that time the economy has added more than 4.6 million private-sector jobs but has shed nearly 600,000 government jobs, which has worked against economic recovery. With the fiscal cliff looming at the end of the year and Europe teetering on recession, employers need to see Republican leaders in Congress step up and act to boost employment, rather than acting as they have been by paring back spending before the economy has fully recovered.

To speak with Heather Boushey about the monthly jobs report, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogressaction.org or 202.741.6285.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org