Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

Scapegoating Workers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

According to an emerging line of argument primarily advanced by Republicans, our current economic problems are caused in large part because government workers, especially those in unions, are doing too well. Ordinary workers and their unions, of course, had nothing to do with causing the housing and financial crisis that sparked the Great Recession. And claims about bloated salaries and overly powerful unions are mostly inaccurate and almost always heavily distorted. 

But merely rebutting the claims would be a fundamental mistake. Sadly, and dangerously, these canards are being pushed with renewed vigor because of what they do for the politicians who advance them, not for the benefit of the American economy. The newly empowered GOP is seeking to divert the public’s anger from their responsibility for the Great Recession while continuing the conservative economic policies that caused it in the first place, and so undermined the middle class they need to appeal to for votes.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Center for American Progress' Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogressaction.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina1@americanprogressaction.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogressaction.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org