Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

Interactive: Unions Build a Stronger Middle Class

Unions Lead to Higher Income for the Middle Class

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Stronger Unions Create a Stronger Middle Class

Click on a state, or on "all states," to see information about unionization there.
Drag the blue arrow to adjust the union membership rate and see how it affects middle class earnings in the state.
 
 
 
 

  •  Change in middle class earnings
  •  Average change in earnings for middle class households

See also:



To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Elise Shulman (Oceans)
202.741.6256 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Center for American Progress' Legal Progress, Half in Ten)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (Immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogressaction.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org