Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

Video: Repeal “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” Now!

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The United States military loses patriotic and talented men and women every day due to the "Don’t Ask Don’t Tell" policy. Since 1993, this discriminatory policy has forced over 13,000 qualified and patriotic men and women to leave the service. It has made many thousands more decide not to re-enlist. What matters most on the battlefield is a person’s ability to complete the mission. It’s time for our country’s laws and our military’s policies to reflect this basic, common sense notion.

(transcript, mp4, YouTube)

Our military needs to make personnel decisions based on the mission, not irrelevant factors like sexual orientation. Tell Congress today that delay is not an option. Congress must act now to repeal "Don’t Ask Don’t Tell."

For more information, see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Center for American Progress' Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogressaction.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogressaction.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogressaction.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogressaction.org