Infographic: Civil Unions and the Two Mitt Romneys

Presidential Hopeful Reverses Course on Relationship Recognition

Infographic

Andrew Phifer is an intern for LGBT Progress at the Center for American Progress Action Fund. Crosby Burns is a Research Associate for the LGBT Research and Communications Project at CAP Action.

Endnotes

[1] Frank Phillips, “Romney’s stance on civil unions draws fire,” The Boston Globe, February 23, 2005, available at http:/www.boston.com/news/local/articles/2005/02/23/romneys_stance_on_civil_unions_draws_fire.

[2] Marc Ambinder, “2012 And Huntsman’s Surprise,” The Atlantic, February 13, 2009, available at http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2009/02/2012-and-huntsmans-surprise/602.

[3] Ben Adler, “The Nation: Gay Marriage Caught Romney Off Guard,” The Nation, May 11, 2012, available at http://www.npr.org/2012/05/11/152489094/the-nation-gay-marriage-caught-romney-off-guard.

[4] Ibid.

[5] Maggie Haberman, “Gay marriage decisions shows ‘leadership,’ Rudy Giuliani says of Andrew Cuomo,” Politico, June 27, 2011, available at http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0611/57882.html.

[6] David Gibson, “Condi Rice: Pro-Choice, Libertarian . . . and Evangelical,” Politics Daily, December 28, 2010, available at http://www.politicsdaily.com/2010/12/28/condi-rice-pro-choice-libertarian-and-evangelical.

[7] Nick Wing, “Laura Bush: Gay Marriage Should Be Legal, Abortion Should Remain Legal,” The Huffington Post, May 13, 2010, available at http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/05/13/laura-bush-gay-marriage-s_n_574731.html.

[8] Jo Becker, “A Conservative’s Road to Same-Sex Marriage Advocacy,” The New York Times, August 18, 2009, available at http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/19/us/19olson.html?pagewanted=all.

[9] Michael Barbaro, “Romney Reaffirms Opposition to Marriage, or Unions, for Gay Couples,” The New York Times, May 9, 2012, available at http://www.nytimes.com/2012/05/10/us/politics/romney-reaffirms-opposition-to-marriage-or-similar-for-gay-couples.html.

[10] Luke Johnson, “Michele Bachmann Reacts To Encounter With Elijah, 8-Year-Old With Gay Mother,” The Huffington Post, December 7, 2011, available at http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/12/07/michele-bachmann-elijah-gay-rights_n_1134947.html.

[11] Leigh Ann Caldwell, “Santorum opposes civil unions for same-sex couples,” CBS News, February 22, 2012, available at http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503544_162-57383106-503544/santorum-opposes-civil-unions-for-same-sex-couples.

[12] “Defense of Marriage Act,” available at http://governor.state.tx.us/priorities/families/stronger_families/defense_of_marriage_act (last accessed July 2012).

[13] “Herman Cain Supports ‘Traditional Marriage,’ Won’t Say If He Opposes Civil Unions,” Equality Matters, June 10, 2011, available at http://equalitymatters.org/emtv/201106100006.

[14] “Newt Gingrich – Candidates Stances on Issues within Gay Rights,” available at http://electful.com/candidate/newt-gingrich/issues/gay-rights (last accessed July 2012).