Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

PRESS CALL ADVISORY: Debunking the Black American Leadership Alliance’s ‘DC March for Jobs’

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — Hours after anti-immigrant activists gather on Capitol Hill, experts and advocates will be available to address misinformation from the rally participants and reject attempts from organizers to provoke tensions between African Americans, Latinos, and immigrants.

On a press call Monday, July 15 at 2 p.m. EDT, a diverse group of activists and experts, including Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY), will address the roots of the anti-immigrant movement, previous attempts to divide American communities of color, and directly address accusations that higher levels of immigration disproportionately impacts those communities. With political, policy, and grassroots expertise, call participants will discuss academic research that dispels the “black vs. brown” narrative, as well as relay experiences from organizing black and African American communities on the ground.

WHO:

Rep. Yvette Clarke, Congresswoman from New York’s ninth district; Vice Chair, Congressional Black Caucus

Sam Fulwood, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress Action Fund

Collette Pinchon Battle, Director, Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy

Tia Oso, Arizona Organizer, Black Alliance for Just Immigration

Benjamin E. Johnson, Executive Director, American Immigration Council

WHEN:

Monday, July 15 at 2:00 p.m. EDT

CALL-IN NUMBER:

877-888-4319

Passcode: Immigration

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org