Center for American Progress masthead Mobile CAP Banner

RELEASE: New Video: Americans Unite Around Universal Background Checks

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogressaction.org

Washington, D.C. — As the debate over gun-violence prevention continues after the tragedy in Newtown, Connecticut, two months ago today, the Center for American Progress released a video highlighting the importance of passing common-sense gun-safety measures such as universal background checks. An on-the-ground investigation from Colorado by ThinkProgress details how the tragedies of Columbine and Aurora have galvanized Coloradans around universal background checks in order to make their communities safer by keeping guns out of the hands of criminals.

Watch the video here.

After the Columbine massacre, Colorado closed its so-called “gun show loophole” through a state referendum in 2000. Still, another glaring loophole exists: private sales outside of gun shows. Even though private sellers at gun shows are required to run background checks, anyone can still purchase a weapon—no background check required—from private sellers online and elsewhere. In fact, up to 40 percent of all gun sales take place through unlicensed private sellers who do not have to conduct any background check.

As Don Macalady, founder of Hunters Against Gun Violence in Colorado, says in the video, universal background checks are just “something that should be done in the interest of public safety.”

Why do we need universal background checks?

Additional resources:

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogressaction.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, higher education, Center for American Progress's Legal Progress)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org